PM Modi to inaugurate 10 new Vande Bharat Trains

Prime Minister Narendra Modi will inaugurate 10 new Vande Bharat trains today on 12th March 2024 across the country, expanding India's rail network.

PM Modi to inaugurate 10 new Vande Bharat Trains

These additions bring the total operational trains to 51, covering 45 routes. Extensions and enhancements to existing routes aim to enhance connectivity. Delhi will host the most trains, followed by Mumbai and Chennai.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi will inaugurate 10 new Vande Bharat trains across various routes in the country, making the total number of operational trains to add more than 50 figures. This expansion follows the inauguration of six new Vande Bharat trains in December 2023, which included routes like Katra-New Delhi, Amritsar-Delhi, Coimbatore-Bangalore, Mangalore-Madgaon, Jalna-Mumbai, and Ayodhya-Delhi.

Moreover, the second train between Delhi and Varanasi was also introduced during that period.

Read Also : International Partnership: RITES signs contract with Bangladesh Railway

Ten new Vande Bharat trains are being added to the existing 41 trains, making the total count 51, which will now operate on 45 routes across the country. It's worth noting that six routes, namely Delhi-Katra, Delhi-Varanasi, Mumbai-Ahmedabad, Mysuru-Chennai, Kasaragod–Thiruvananthapuram, and Visakhapatnam–Secunderabad, will now have two Vande Bharat trains after the inauguration of the new trains.


Read Also : BEL registers a growth of 34% in PAT during FY 2023-24

The 10 new trains cover a range of routes, which includes Lucknow-Dehradun, Patna-Lucknow, New Jalpaiguri-Patna, Puri- Visakhapatnam, Kalaburagi-Bangalore, Ranchi-Varanasi, Khajuraho-Delhi, the second set of Vande Bharat trains includes, Ahemdabad-Mumbai, Secunderabad-Visakapatnam, and Mysuru-Chennai Furthermore, four existing Vande Bharat routes will see extensions, enhancing connectivity.

These extensions include the Ahmedabad-Jamnagar route extended till Dwarka, The Ajmer-Delhi train till Chandigarh, The Gorakhpur-Lucknow till Prayagraj, and Thiruvananthapuram-Kasargod route extended till Mangaluru.

Read Also : Repayment of remaining $550m bond achieving a zero-debt position at HoldCo