Ministry of Agriculture and Farmers Welfare

Ministry of Agriculture and Farmers Welfare

The Ministry of Agriculture and Farmers Welfare formerly the Ministry of Agriculture, is a branch of the Government of India and the apex body for formulation and administration of the rules and regulations and laws related to agriculture in India. 


Department of Revenue and Agriculture and Commerce was set up in June 1871 to deal with all the agricultural matters in India. Until this ministry was established, matters related to agriculture were within the portfolio of the Home Department

In 1881, the Department of Revenue and Agriculture was set up to deal with combined portfolios of education, health, agriculture, and revenue. However, In 1947, the Department of Agriculture was redesignated as the Ministry of Agriculture.

The Ministry of Agriculture was renamed as the Ministry for Agriculture and Farmers' Welfare on 15 August 2015, to take care of farming community needs.

Key Officials

* Cabinet Minister: Shivraj Singh Chouhan
* Ministers of State: Bhagirath Choudhary and Ram Nath Thakur


For the fiscal year 2024-25, the Ministry has an estimated budget of Rs 1,27,469 crore.

Initiatives and Programs

The Ministry has various schemes and programs aimed at improving agricultural productivity and farmers' welfare. Some notable initiatives include:
* Pradhan Mantri Fasal Bima Yojana (PMFBY): A crop insurance scheme.
* Paramparagat Krishi Vikas Yojana (PKVY): Promoting organic farming.
* Rashtriya Krishi Vikas Yojana: Aimed at the holistic development of agriculture.

Women in Agriculture

Women play a significant role in agriculture in India, representing 33% of the agricultural labor force and 48% of self-employed farmers, yet they own less than 15% of landholdings. Initiatives like the Mahila Kisan Sashaktikaran Pariyojana (MKSP) have been implemented to support and empower women farmers.

Ministry of Agriculture and Farmers Welfare News